1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Math knowledge required to fully understand physics

1. Mar 6, 2013 #1
    Hello everyone!!
    I am a high school student who is in grade 10. I've developed a passion in Math and Physics, and I intend to be an engineer in the future. However, I don't feel satisfied with the Physics knowledge I've picked up from school, so I seek the book Physics for Scientists and Engineers. Nonetheless, I find that in order to study that book, I must have a considerable amount of Maths such as Calculus, which at the moment I do not learn at school. And the Maths knowledge I've learned at school is not difficult at all.
    Therefore, I'd like to seek some advice on which Maths book I need to study in order to FULLY understand concepts of Physics. I realize that I need to brush upon Algebra, Geometry and Trigonometry and to learn Calculus.
    I identify my level now as Pre-Intermediate.

Thank you so much !!
    P/S: I'm an Asian student

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 6, 2013 #2
    to fully understand physics you need to know group theory, tensor calculus, complex analysis, partial differential equations and programming.

did you mean to phrase your question a different way? maybe "knowing introductory physics adequately" would be a better way to put it.

4. Mar 6, 2013 #3
    I mean to understand physics at precollegiate level

5. Mar 6, 2013 #4

dx

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Calculus would be the natural thing to study at this point.

Have you heard about complex numbers? You could study that too. And maybe some probability theory.

6. Mar 6, 2013 #5

jtbell

Staff: Mentor