Math preparation for business school?

In summary, the individual is an undergraduate student considering business school in the future. They are wondering what type of math would be useful to make themselves look good and be prepared for coursework. The responder suggests statistics as a handy tool for any business career, with measure theory and probability being helpful for finance. They also mention that a strong quantitative GMAT score and experience in leadership roles will be important for a business school application. They clarify that this advice is for an MBA and not a PhD program.
phantomcow2
My question isn't related to natural sciences as most in this forum are, so I'm not sure this is the appropriate place to ask. I'm an undergrad junior (almost a senior) and am considering business school a few years down the road. I'm wondering, though, what kind of math should I have taken to

1. Make myself look good.
2. Be adequately prepared for the coursework.

Physics news on Phys.org
Well, statistics comes to mind. That's a handy tool to have in your toolbox no matter where you end up going.

What area of business are you interested in? Because if you want to get into finance, you're going to need a lot more advanced math.

Measure theory & probability should come in handy - it is not a very easy subject to learn, however, so dedication is required.

phantomcow2 said:
1. Make myself look good.

Looks like you already have what it takes to become a businessman. lol.

Your transcript and which classes you took really won't be part of the application for business school. Schools will look at your major and your GPA and probably won't care which math classes you took. You will get credit for being an engineering, math, or science major, and for having a strong quantitative GMAT score.