1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Mathematical Physics graduate programs?

1. May 18, 2015 #1
    I have a master's in physics. I'm looking at PhD programs, but I really don't want to take the same courses over and take comprehensive exams (or the damn GRE). I managed to squeeze in a few math classes before I finished. I would like to do research in physics, but from a more math-heavy angle. I want to take more math courses as well as advanced physics courses. I've been studying computation on my own lately. Computational skills would be beneficial for the private sector; I'm not pursuing a career in academia.

I've been looking around but I can't find flexible math/physics PhD programs. Math and physics departments are usually very distinct and separate. Their structures haven't changed in ages.

Any suggestions for grad programs? I would also consider schools outside of the US.

2. jcsd
  3. May 23, 2015 #2
    Thanks for the post! This is an automated courtesy bump. Sorry you aren't generating responses at the moment. Do you have any further information, come to any new conclusions or is it possible to reword the post?

4. May 23, 2015 #3
    No new ideas.

5. May 24, 2015 #4

esuna

Gold Member

Indiana University Bloomington offers an actual degree in "Mathematical Physics"

http://www.math.indiana.edu/graduate/mathphysics.phtml [Broken]
    http://www.indiana.edu/~iubphys/research/mathmatical.shtml