• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products Here!

Maths at later stages of career.

• Math
  • Thread starter nimiprave
  • Start date

Main Question or Discussion Point

friends,

I have an unique circusmtance. I was wondering if you guys can throw some light into my thinking process. I'm an experienced software developer in developing business software solutions. I have a MS in computer science and it's been close to six years since I have finished my masters degree. I'm 33 years old now. As a kid, I was good at physics and maths. But with the course of time I lost all the knowledge as I don;t use them on day to day basis. However, my internal quest for the knowledge in mathematics and physics is kind of pressing un-happiness in my daily job. Now, I'm thinking of learning the mathematics again and use this knowledge in the astro-physics computing domain. But I'm running low in confidence and scared of the time that it would take for me to learn the math as I'm current job takes a whole lot of time. As all grown up's do I had lost the innocence and inculcated fear and the constant assesment of successful and failure behind any knowledge endeavour. Instead of learning just for learning my educated brain is constantly accessing the success behind the knowledge endeavour. I was looking for some inspiration or ways to realize my dreams. What do you guys suggest?

Answers and Replies

I think you need a degree in math or preferably in phys. It is very difficult to learn math or phys away from university.

I think you need a degree in math or preferably in phys. It is very difficult to learn math or phys away from university.
He has a masters in computer science which is basically a math degree right there.

He has a masters in computer science which is basically a math degree right there.
This is just not true at all.