MatLab7.6 : Graphical User Interface Questions

• Thread starter BrIDo
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Interface
In summary, the conversation discusses the task of creating a graphical user interface in Matlab 7.6 for a pre-existing program. The person is new to Matlab and asks if it is possible to have a user interface change and create/destroy objects during the program. They also mention wanting to create a drop down menu that can change text boxes and user choices without running another script. Advice to follow examples in Matlab help is offered.
BrIDo

Homework Statement

I've been assigned the task of creating a graphical user interface in Matlab 7.6, for a program already written. I haven't coded in Matlab before and I'm completely new to the program and interface.

My question is not so much specific, but more about what can be achieved.

Is it possible by means of programming to have a user interface change? Is it possible to create/destroy objects mid program?

Ideally what I am trying to is something along the lines of a drop down menu, which depending on the selection, changes the text boxes/choices the user can make, without having to run another script.

Any advice and help, much appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
You should follow the examples of creating GUIs in Matlab help.

I am familiar with Matlab and its capabilities for creating graphical user interfaces. Yes, it is possible to have a user interface change dynamically through programming. This can be achieved by using callbacks, which are functions that are executed when a certain action is performed by the user, such as selecting an item from a drop down menu.

In terms of creating and destroying objects, this can also be done using programming techniques. Objects can be created and destroyed within a program, allowing for dynamic changes to the user interface.