1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Measurable Functions - Any Help Appreciated. (Very appreciated)

1. Nov 3, 2011 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

I'm new to Measure Theory, and to be honest, I'm having a really hard time making any sense of it at all. My prof is a nice guy, but his approach to teaching involves giving zero worked solutions. This doesn't work for me. Personally I need to see solutions to get an idea of how to work these problems out, and get an idea of what everything means.

I have a number of problems where I've been asked to find the smallest σ-algebras of subsets of ℝ where f:ℝ→ℝ is a measurable function. The first question is given below:

2. Relevant equations

f(x) = -1 if x <= 0, and f(x) = 1 if x > 0

3. The attempt at a solution

Don't laugh - as I said I really don't know what I'm doing here...

I can see that sub-intervals of X = ℝ: (-∞, 0) and [0, ∞) are in one-to-one correspondence with the singleton set 2 = {-1,1}. So there are |P(2)| = 2^2=4 sets in the σ-algebra.

Would the answer be: {∅,(-∞,0),[0,∞),ℝ} ?

Am I even close to being on the right track here?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 8, 2011 #2
    Is this even slightly right?

4. Nov 8, 2011 #3
    Spitz, to answer your question, you have to first ask whether [itex]\left\{\emptyset,(-\infty,0),[0,\infty),\mathbb{R}\right\}[/itex] is a sigma-algebra. If it is a sigma-algebra, check whether f is measurable with respect to this sigma-algebra. If yes, can you reduce the set such that the reduction is still a sigma-algebra and that f is still measurable with respect to it?

To do these, you have to know the definition of a sigma-algebra and function measurability. You can consult your notes.

5. Nov 9, 2011 #4