Measure the deflection at the end of a beam

In summary, the conversation discusses the need for a formula to calculate deflection at the end of a beam, which is supported at one end and subject to different weights and gravity. The speaker also mentions the need to measure the deflection to determine the strength of the material and use it for future calculations. They also mention confusion about the Deflection article on Wikipedia and the need for clarification on whether the given deflection value is for vertical or total deflection, and the calculation of horizontal deflection. They ask for help in finding a solution to this problem.
barry_scott
Hi guys, I'm new to the physics world and am getting a bit confused with some of the terms used, stopping me getting the maths i need. Essentially I need to measure the deflection at the end of a beam, supported at one end. Like this:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/e/e9/Cantilever_Beam.svg

I will have the beam at different angles with different weights on the end and different gravity. So essentially what i need is a formula where i can specify:

• Gravity
  • Beam Angle
  • Beam length
  • Beam end weight

and obtain a deflection. I'm guessing i will initially have to measure the deflection to obtain information on the strength of the material. Then use this value to calculate future deflections based on weight.

Thanks for any input you guys might have!

Physics news on Phys.org

Whats wrong with the Deflection_(engineering) article in wikipedia?

http://users.aber.ac.uk/mrb6/deflection.gif

The deflection article on wikipedia provides a formula for the calculation of a deflection, this deflection is given as a single value. e.g. 10.6mm
I'm assuming this value is for the vertical deflection of the beam? (labeled Dy)
In which case i also need to calculate the horizontal deflection of the beam (labeled Dx). Essentially shortening of the beams span due to its bending.