Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Measuring the polariztion of a pair of entangled photons

1. Jan 5, 2013 #1
    Hi,

I'm quite new to quantum mechanics, learning about it in my free time in a life-long learning fashion :) I've been trying to find a solution to a problem for some time, and the results I included below appear to be OK, but I have doubts about the method I used, so any help or guidance would be much appreciated.

I imagine the following experiment: suppose there is a source that emits two entangled photons along the z axis, A and B, both linearly polarized, but in an orthogonal direction. Photon A encounters a linear polarizer aligned with the x and y axes and a detector behind it. Photon B encounters a linear polarizer rotated by ##\phi## related to the first one and another detector behind it. There is some apparatus, C, connected to both detectors. I think after the experiment, the apparatus should be in a superposition of detecting one, the other, both, or neither photons:
    $$ |C\rangle = x\left|C_{A\&B}\right> + y\left|C_A\right>+ z\left|C_B\right>+ w\left|C_0\right>. $$
    I'm trying to find the coefficients (amplitudes) x, y, z and w, and I know the order in which the photons interact with the polarizers and detectors should not matter.

I've tried various ways to do this, and the most promising was the following:

In isolation, the polarization of photon A can be described in the 2-dimensional Hilbert space ##H_A##. Let the observable associated with the x,y-aligned polarizer be P with the following eigenvectors:
    $$ P = \begin{pmatrix}1&0\\ 0&-1\end{pmatrix}
    ~~~~~|+p\rangle = \begin{pmatrix}1\\0\end{pmatrix}
    ~~~~~|-p\rangle = \begin{pmatrix}0\\1\end{pmatrix}. $$