Mercury's orbit according to Classical VS Modern Physics

In summary, the conversation discusses a high-school student's paper on Mercury's orbit, specifically using Newton and Kepler's equations to compare the predicted trajectory with the actual one. The student is unsure about which variables are dependent on modern conceptions and whether they should calculate the masses and angular velocity themselves. The conversation also touches on the difference between Newtonian mechanics and general relativity in predicting Mercury's orbit, and where to find data on the "epoch" in relativity. It is mentioned that taking into account the motion of the Sun is necessary for accurate predictions of Mercury's orbit.
Daniel Sarioglu
Hello,
I'm a high-school student and I was assigned to do this kind of a paper as a senior (one of the requirements of graduating is a short monograph on a subject of interest.)
My topic includes an analysis of Mercury's orbit using Newton and Kepler's equations and comparing the predicted trajectory vs the correct one. Just to clarify, my intentions are not to delve into relativity to predict the "correct trajectory," but to compare my calculations according to Newtonian Physics and the orbital parameters (i.e major axis, minor axis, distance between foci of ellipse, etc...) found in online sources like NASA or sth -which I suppose corresponds to the trajectory described by relativity.
My problem lies in not knowing which variables are dependent of modern "non Newtonian" conceptions and therefore would have to find myself. For example, deriving from the inverse square law and the polar equation for an ellipse, I got the following:

[itex]
\begin{equation*}
L_e = \frac{L_P^2}{Gm_Sm_P^2}
\end{equation*}
[/itex]

Being ##L_e## the semi latus rectum of the elipse, ##L_P##, the angular momentum of the planet, ##G## the gravitational constant, and ##m_S## and ##m_P## the masses of the Sun and the planet correspondingly.