1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Schools Military-related project proposal in University

1. May 3, 2012 #1
    Hi I am an applied math/physics undergrad, I am interested in developing/inventing a new technology that will benefit for the military.

Is it ok if I propose a research project that relates to military in my university?

I want to point out that I dont want to be involve in killing human beings (eg kinetic energy)?

I'm more interested in advanced software engineering, AI, quantum computing, communication, control systems and more as long as its related to military, but not related in killing people.

2. jcsd
  3. May 3, 2012 #2

fss

Do you know what militaries do? Doesn't seem like it...

4. May 3, 2012 #3

cgk

Science Advisor

A lot of military action is also related to preventing people from being killed (e.g., by other people, or by environmental desasters). In fact, a well armed military doesn't even need to act to play its role: The mere fact that it is there will make opposing forces think twice before doing something. No, it's not so simple.

Also, there is the whole logistics aspect of an armed force. Many generals have said that this is what makes of breakes a force in the end.

OP: That being said, in university there is a good chance that in university you will not find much support for research that is clearly military related.

5. May 3, 2012 #4

fzero

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member