Modeling Functions.... real life business, money, probability, etc.

In summary: Most undergraduate math books also suffer from this. Yes, there is simple function modeling with costs in some pre-cal books, but that is very easy and basic. Your goal is to become better at modeling real life business, money, probability situations with functions. You are working towards either doing computer programming, operation analyst, or actuarial work, and you want to become better at modeling. Which tehcniques you use and how you go about it depend on the problem, what tools you have available, and often the degree of accuracy needed.In summary, a book or online resource that can help you in learning how to model real life situations into functions would be either difficult or too basic. A book on
Solid Snake
Ok.

I'm now studying economics and applied math, and I'm currently wanting to know what book or online resource could help me in learning how to model real life situations into functions. Most math and econ textbooks are garbage at this.

I'll be more specific. In my study of Microeconomics, they introduce the concept of a production function. They just tell me that it is mostly a function of two variables, and the problems in the book already have the function given. No where do they teach (or give you problems) on how one can create their own production function given a specific situation. That's what I want to know.

Most undergrad math book also suffer from this. Yes, there is simple function modeling with costs in some pre-cal books, but that is very easy and basic.

My goal is to become better at modeling real life business, money, probability situations with functions. I'm working towards either doing computer programming, operation analyst, or actuarial work, and I want to become better at modeling. So which book (that is not too difficult, but not too easy) or online resource can help me?

Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org