1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Motion of a particle in a rotating tube

1. Jun 19, 2014 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Hello everyone,
    How do I go about this problem; Describe the motion of the particle, m, inside the rotating tube. (See attachment please.)
    At time [itex]t=0, r(t=0)=b[/itex] and [itex]\dot{r}(t=0)=v_{0}[/itex]

2. Relevant equations
    I think it would be practical to use polar coordinates to describe the system.
    Then maybe find the kinetic energy and the potential, to find the Lagrangian?

3. The attempt at a solution
    I don't really know where to start, any hints or tips are really appreciated.
    In class we just started with holonomic constraints, therefore I'm a little new to this concept. I guess it has something to do with this problem?

Attached Files:

• 123.png
      123.png
      File size:
      11.7 KB
      Views:
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 19, 2014 #2

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

That would work - you could also change to a coordinate system that rotates with the tube.
    What has your coursework concentrated on just lately?

4. Jun 19, 2014 #3
    Yea, in the problem statement they also hint that it can be viewed as a one dimensional motion in a coordinate system rotating with the tube. How would I go about that?
    At the moment we are doing this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Holonomic_constraints and we derived the euler lagrang equation. But im not sure how to use it. Can you give me a hint of what to do next?

5. Jun 19, 2014 #4

BiGyElLoWhAt

Gold Member

Are there any forces acting on the particle other than the centripetal force?

6. Jun 19, 2014 #5

Orodruin

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor