1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics MSc EE vs PhD physics? (industry)

1. Aug 22, 2008 #1
    First let me state I have absolutely no interest in going into academia as a career, just doesnt interest me. I am more interested in industry, not cause money, I dont want to be a professor.

I plan on pursuing dual EE/physics major in undergrad, and plan to attend graduate school after. I would really enjoy being an engineer by profession, but i also love physics and really think it would be fun to do a PhD in condensed matter physics(superconductivity). I dont know if i want to get a masters in EE or a phd in physics.

How are the industrial job prospects for physics phD's? if i had a phd in physics and a BS in EE would the BS be useful to my career, obviously i would have acquired more skills but will employers overlook the BS since i would have a phD? Or would it be advisable to dual major in say math/physics instead at undergrad if EE wont aid my phD industry career?

Any other input in this regard would be greatly appreciated too :D

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 22, 2008 #2
    An EE BS would make you gold for a physics Ph.D. People love it when you know electronics.

4. Aug 22, 2008 #3
    what types of industrial possitions could one with a phd in physics go into? im assuming i would work closely with engineers possibly sharing projects etc.

5. Aug 22, 2008 #4

chroot

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member