1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

My lost dream of being a mathematician

1. Jun 21, 2014 #1
    Hello
    I respect all of you
    I'm a computer programmer from Egypt
    When I finished my high school, I wanted to join the faculty of science math department
    My father refused because he has a private hospital and wanted me to be a doctor
    So I joined the faculty of medicine that I hated more than any thing else, obligated
    It is 6 years
    After the second year, I refused the situation and left their house and got rid of their
    money, deciding to follow my dream, that has superior power over me
    Imagine what happened in Egypt
    The employees refused to give me the permission to change "Your father has to agree"
    "He's your father and knows your life more than you"
    "He's to decide for you"
    It didn't do any thing when I shouted or cried "This is the law"
    Right now, I want to be a mathematician
    What do you think I can do, without a teacher?
    Right now, I finished my computer institute and I'm a programmer
    Thank you very much
    Hatem Al-Naggar

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 21, 2014 #2

jedishrfu

Staff: Mentor

4. Jun 21, 2014 #3
    Welcome to PF! :smile:
    Its sad to hear what happened with you. Often parents overdo their guidance to put our life in order which results in more disorder. But at least they do it with good intention.

Unfortunately I don't think it is possible to become a self taught mathematician (specially on higher level) without any institutional guidance. Of course you can get a lot of help from internet and it is certainly possible to learn a lot without direct contact with teachers. But the main problem would be to keep up the motivation. Seriously.