Need Help: Calc, GPA, and Grad School.

In summary, the speaker is a sophomore studying physics and astronomy at a top private engineering school. They struggled during their freshman year but are currently doing well in their classes and hope to raise their cumulative GPA. They are concerned about their chances of getting into a good grad school due to some poor grades in calculus and E&M. They plan to improve their grades and get research experience to boost their chances.
nphysics123
Hello everyone. I'm currently a sophomore working toward a BS in physics (and a minor in astronomy) at a top private engineering school. With the semester finishing up, I'm a little worried about where I am now and where I will be after graduation and I have a few questions.

A little background: My freshman year was okay. I came out of mechanics with a B+ and most of my other classes were Bs or As. Unfortunately, my second semester required taking Biology, Chemistry and Electricity & Magnetism (and the recitations that go with them) at the same time along with a few other classes. I was pretty overloaded with work and was doing almost nothing except eating, sleeping, and school work. I found it very hard to properly study for all of these classes (especially since almost all exams I had were given during the same week for each class) and I passed E&M with a C+. I also passed my first semester calc class with a C+ and finished freshman year with a Cumulative 3.096 GPA.