1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Need help deciding to stay as a math major

1. May 11, 2010 #1
    Well I am a freshman college student and I took Calc2 in the fall and got an A in the course. I then took Calc3 this Spring. I was doing fairly well in the course. The both midterms I got the third highest grade in the class of thirty something students (and the class had a lot of students who were retaking the course). So I took my final exam which was worth 70% of my final course grade. I was exceptionally nervous about the test and when I got the exam I forgot almost everything I learned the entire semester and everything I had studied. I had a hard time doing any of the problems. I ended up failing the final exam, and I received a D in the course (which did wonders to my GPA).
    I feel like I should just give up my hopes on being a Math major? I know that my chances of attending grad school are gone, and that maybe I am not intelligent to pursue college Math any further.
    I just need some advice on making a decision before I sign up for courses next semester.

2. jcsd
  3. May 11, 2010 #2
    Just retake the course. You said others were doing it.

4. May 11, 2010 #3
    One failed course wont hurt your grad school application as long as you retake the course and do well. They mostly care about overal GPA and in particular you're last two years of school.

In regards to whether you should switch, it seems like you were doing well in the beginning part of the course and just freaked out on the exam. These things happen and can be fixed.

Sometimes people fail, and you shouldn't give up just because you failed one course.

5. May 12, 2010 #4