1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Needing help in choosing high school courses

1. Mar 30, 2013 #1
    Needing help in choosing high school courses!!!

I am currently a freshman going into my sophomore year. Since I was in the seventh grade, I knew I wanted to pursue some kind of career in Physics. By now I have narrowed down to a career in Astrophysics or Theoretical Physics. My problem is choosing the right high school courses in order to prepare myself for these careers. I have been debating whether I should take the IB programme or just AP courses at my high school. At my high school, their highest level of Physics is Physics C-Mechanics whereas in IB, they offer Physics (HL). Which pathway of education should I follow?

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 30, 2013 #2
    Which course lets you learn the most? Choose that one. You make it sound as IB would be that choice.

4. Mar 31, 2013 #3
    I can speak from experience, as I took the IB diploma program. It depends slightly per school, but in general, IB is much, much better than just AP classes. IB HL, which does not require calculus, covers very cool and relevant topics that AP-C does not. You also have the amazing opportunity of doing an EE in Physics. Not to mention that you will be a well-round student after things like CAS and ToK, which colleges love. IB is absolutely worth the workload.

5. Mar 31, 2013 #4