Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Negative squares using the space time interval invariance

1. Sep 17, 2010 #1
    I'm new to this (wonderful) forum, and to SR too...
    I've a general question about the space time interval invariance.
    Say we have two points A and B, at rest each other, at distance AB.
    Now A and B simultaneously in their reference frame emit a flash of light.
    The space time interval between these two events is spacelike and equals -(AB)2.
    Now a fast spaceship C travels from A toward B and is reached by the two flashes at the middle point between A and B. For C the two flashes are not emitted simultaneously, and I want to use the invariance of the space time interval to compute T, that is the difference in time (measured by C) between the two flashes. The distance between A and B measured by C is shortened by the Lorentz contraction: ABc < AB. The space time interval measured by C should be:
    (CT)2 - (ABc)2
    and this number should equal -(AB)2. It results
    (CT)2 = (ABc)2 - (AB)2 < 0.

So, how can I find T, as a square root of a negative number?

Sorry if the question is stupid....
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 17, 2010 #2

Gold Member

This is a space-time diagram of your scenario as I understand it. The first is from A and B's rest frame, the second is from the ship frame. I think you can read off the time between flashes on the diagram. The ship is travelling at 0.42c in the A,B frame.

I think you must have made a mistake, if you're trying to take the sqrt of a negative number. With this signature (+,-,-,-) a timelike interval is negative, so just ignore the sign, take the square root, the put the sign back.

Attached Files:

4. Sep 17, 2010 #3
    Thank you

With this signature (+,-,-,-) a SPACElike interval is negative, and this is our case.

And for sure (CT)2 = (ABC)2 - (AB)2 IS negative.