Negative squares using the space time interval invariance

• Thread starter ersteller
  • Start date
Hallo
I'm new to this (wonderful) forum, and to SR too...
I've a general question about the space time interval invariance.
Say we have two points A and B, at rest each other, at distance AB.
Now A and B simultaneously in their reference frame emit a flash of light.
The space time interval between these two events is spacelike and equals -(AB)2.
Now a fast spaceship C travels from A toward B and is reached by the two flashes at the middle point between A and B. For C the two flashes are not emitted simultaneously, and I want to use the invariance of the space time interval to compute T, that is the difference in time (measured by C) between the two flashes. The distance between A and B measured by C is shortened by the Lorentz contraction: ABc < AB. The space time interval measured by C should be:
(CT)2 - (ABc)2
and this number should equal -(AB)2. It results
(CT)2 = (ABc)2 - (AB)2 < 0.

So, how can I find T, as a square root of a negative number?

Sorry if the question is stupid....
er

Answers and Replies

This is a space-time diagram of your scenario as I understand it. The first is from A and B's rest frame, the second is from the ship frame. I think you can read off the time between flashes on the diagram. The ship is travelling at 0.42c in the A,B frame.

I think you must have made a mistake, if you're trying to take the sqrt of a negative number. With this signature (+,-,-,-) a timelike interval is negative, so just ignore the sign, take the square root, the put the sign back.

Attachments

Thank you

With this signature (+,-,-,-) a SPACElike interval is negative, and this is our case.

And for sure (CT)2 = (ABC)2 - (AB)2 IS negative.

What I find very interesting in your answer is when you say: "just ignore the sign, take the square root, the put the sign back"... Really so simple?

Thank you very much!
er

Thank you