Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

New beginner's help -- learn which programming language to enrich my knowledge?

1. Mar 9, 2015 #1
    I am a physics undergraduate and is going to pursue a physics Ph.D. degree from 2015 Fall.

I am thinking about learning some programming language to enrich my knowledge. Also, I hope this kind of skill could enlarge the scope of my future career. Please give me some advice on which language should I start from.

THX.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 9, 2015 #2

DrClaude

Staff: Mentor

There are numerous threads on the subject, simply search "which language".

The bottom line is that it doesn't matter. Choose C, Fortran, Python, or whichever else for which you can find a compiler and a good book to learn from.

4. Mar 9, 2015 #3
    First learn Matlab then you have a lot of choice.
    I personally use C++ for intensive computing. You have good library, Boost, STD, QT for graphics, OpenCV for computer vision.... You can build powerful and reusable code with template méta-programming. You can use assembler code, SIMD intruction for parallélisation (SSSE3 is very usefull for intensive computing).
    I know less Fortran and Python. Java is good only for multi-platform, don't use it for math.

5. Mar 9, 2015 #4

rcgldr

Homework Helper

For engineering / math / ... type students and engineers, Matlab is popular software tool due to it's ineractive ability to solve mathematical problems without going much into actual programming, You can pick up what programming you need over time. To learn programming as opposed to using a high level tool like Matlab, the language doesn't matter that much, but I would suggest finding out what the current graduate students are using at your school and use what they use.

6. Mar 9, 2015 #5

FactChecker

Science Advisor
    Gold Member