Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Newbie Converting a USb power to wall(110v)

1. Jul 6, 2010 #1
    Complete newbie to anything and everything but has a little bit of street smarts. sorry for wrong wording of any terms I use but hopefully you can get the gist of it.
    OK so I'm building a custom laptop stand/ cooler device. I have made a wooden platform about 15 inches by 9 inches and stands about 5 inches tall. I have drilled six holes in it about 3 inches each in diameter for ventalation.
    I have three little computer type fans that were inside of an Xbox 360 intercooler that I took apart cause it was loud as a freakin 1960 eras vehicle and I also heard reviews of it sucking too much power and ruining the 360. it has the red and black wires running from each fan to a main power area.(power and ground) I'm wondering what it would take to get the fans powered. I'm sure I could find a way to splice an old usb and mostly make it plug and play.(not too sure of that idea just a speculation) I would not really like to do it that way but if its a little easier I will consider it
    The main thing I'm wanting to do is make it so I can have it plug right into the wall outlet. The laptop stand will stay in the same spot at all times. the laptop is just a POS and overheats constantly and shuts down. its an HP and they have had about a million recalls on the battery for overheating and pretty much blowing up, I have gotten two new batteries and still nothing changes. I have all the spyware I have enough free space on the HD( never lower that 25 and it has 200 total.) and it has 2 gb of ram. its not a bad laptop on the inside it just overheats constantly.