Noob with some questions on Modeling Earth

In summary, a noob is seeking clarification on the process of modeling Earth. Their questions revolve around the use of data and simulations, as well as the limitations and accuracy of these models. They also inquire about the potential applications of these models, such as predicting natural disasters and understanding climate change. The noob is looking for a better understanding of the methodologies and techniques involved in creating accurate Earth models.
cbeckelhymer
as i mentioned I am a huge noob in the reals of math and physics, but if anyone can explain things to me as a noob that would be awesome.

magnetism had always fascinated me so i think that's where i want to dive into.

i am curious about experiments or ideas on a model of the earth, and inert gases. i want to know if its possible to get a solid sphere to have magnetic poles like the Earth has. then if it can be set up in a vacuum lab setting except for a substantial amount of inert gas, then have the sphere spinning on its axis at different rpm's and see what happens.

maybe at the start, just have He gas and do a wide range of rpm's, from slow to super fast

then later add in other inert gases. anyways i would love to know what might happen or how i could do this experiment.

Physics news on Phys.org
Nothing special will happen. If you put the spinning sphere in a suitable magnetic field, you can levitate it, otherwise you have to suspend it in a different way.

yes I am sure you have to suspend it, but I am not asking about having a sphere in a magnetic field, I am asking to make a sphere that is magnetic with N and S polar ends like the earth. thanks for the link, i will check it out!

Every permanent magnet in spherical shape is a sphere with two magnetic poles. There is nothing special about the spherical shape either.

I just suggested the external field to levitate this permanent magnet. That is the only somewhat interesting application I see.