A contradiction of the equivalence principle?

jeff einstein
TL;DR Summary
is the equivelence principle right?
hi, I am a physics student in grade eleven. I do not have much knowledge of physics but I have a doubt:

apart from the maths and the experiments, shouldn't larger masses be attracted to Earth's gravity rather than be attracted the same regardless of mass? if we had a scenario where we have Mercury was (of course this is not true: just imagine) distanced 10000 km from Earth and another scenario where the moon is distanced 10000km (imagine) from the Earth, it's obvious that Mercury will fall into Earth faster than moon as mars has a larger mass relative to the moon. isn't this also supposed to happen when two different masses (one more mass and the other less mass) are held at the same distance and should be attracted to Earth at different rates (maybe even in a really minute level)? so isn't this contradicting the equivalence principle?
please answer.

please don't bring up anything about orbits and stuff because when I mentioned mercury and the moon I just wanted to address two different masses on a larger scale.

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF.
jeff einstein said:
hi, I am a physics student in grade eleven. I do not have much knowledge of physics but I have a doubt:

apart from the maths and the experiments, shouldn't larger masses be attracted to Earth's gravity rather than be attracted the same regardless of mass?
Sorry, what does that mean? Are you familiar yet with the equation for the gravitational force between two masses?
$$F = \frac{Gm_1m_2}{r^2}$$

1694537129044.png

http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/grav.html

Likes topsquark
jeff einstein said:
apart from the maths and the experiments,
With this start, I don't know what answer you expect. We can only answer by reference to a mathematical model (acceleration doesn't depend on the mass) or to experimental demonstrations of the same.