Optics Master's vs PhD: Industry Opportunities and Career Prospects Explained

In summary, the individual is in their senior year at a liberal arts college pursuing a BA in physics with research experience in optics. They are considering pursuing a master's or PhD in optics, but are not interested in continuing research for their career. They ask for advice on which degree would be more beneficial for opportunities in industry and what it is like to work in optics. The suggestion is to go for a PhD, as it will open more doors and potentially lead to a technical group leader position. However, a master's with professional experience can also make one competitive in the industry. An engineering degree may also be beneficial. The individual mentions interests in solar panels and medical imaging for potential industry work.
Heidi-W
I am entering my senior year at a liberal arts college where I am earning a BA in Physics. I have some research experience in optics and by the time I graduate I will have more. I am fairly certain that I do not want to continue doing research for my career and that I am more interested in some form of industry work/engineering. With that in mind, as far as opportunities are concerned, does it make more sense for me to pursue a master’s degree or a PhD in optics? I suppose another way to phrase my question is, if I am not interested in doing research long-term, would it still be a significantly better career move for me to get a PhD? Or could I stick with a master’s degree and not lose out on significant opportunities in industry?Any advice, pros and cons to consider, or general info about what it’s like to work in optics at any level would be much appreciated, since it’s a somewhat specialized field and I don’t know many people in it. I have seen forums on the same masters-vs-PhD question for topics such as medical physics (another possibility for me if optics doesn’t pan out…I’m definitely not set in my career plans) and physics degrees, so