Partial Differential EQs for Engineers

In summary, The speaker is an engineer looking for a PDEs self-study book that has both applications and rigor. They have considered Farlow's text but feel it is too focused on applications. They ask for recommendations and are suggested Pinchover and Rubinstein's book as a good introduction with some rigor. Other suggestions can be found in the Amazon reviews.
Saladsamurai
Hello all! :smile: I have searched this, but I am still looking for additional input. I am an engineer and I want to self-study PDEs. I looked at Farlow's text and though it is nice from an applications standpoint, I think that it is not 'mathy' enough for me. Don't get me wrong, I am not the best math student by any stretch; all of my background has been in 'engineering maths' not 'math major maths'. But again, I think Farlow is too applications oriented for me, I like a "little rigor."

Any thoughts on an intro PDE text that has a 'little bit' of rigor yet is still accessible to the Engineer?

Thanks! :smile:

Physics news on Phys.org
How about Pinchover and Rubinstein? From what I have seen, it is a fairly rigorous book and a good introduction, but it is not a thorough treatment. If you read the Amazon reviews of the book, you'll get some other suggestions as well.

What are partial differential equations (PDEs)?

Partial differential equations are mathematical equations that involve multiple independent variables and their partial derivatives. They are commonly used to model physical phenomena that vary continuously in space and time, such as heat transfer, fluid flow, and electromagnetic fields.

Why are PDEs important for engineers?