Perturbation treatment of hydrogen molecular ion

In summary, the book "molecular physics by wolfgang demtroder" uses some advanced quantum mechanics concepts, like perturbation theory. I found it difficult to understand because of the lack of explanations for concepts like derivatives and angles in spherical coordinates. I appreciate any help.
patric44
Homework Statement
question about perturbation method treatment ?
Relevant Equations
in the pictures
hi guys
i am a the third year undergrad student and in this 2nd semester in my collage we should start taking quantum mechanics along with
molecular physics , our molecular physics professor choose a book that we are going to take which is " molecular physics by wolfgang Demtroder "
when i opened that book i found that it uses some advanced quantum mechanics like perturbation theory ... i found it really heavy for a student that just has some relativity intermediate quantum mechanics knowledge !
i started to get this perturbation theory thing ! but has some questions about this :
i get that he can represent the electronic distribution as a linear combination of functions with some coefficients that depend on the
position of the nuclei , how did he expand that integral and reached that partial derivative term its very unclear to me ?
quantum2.png
quantum3.png

i appreciate any help
thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Can you give us the explicit expression for the operator ##\hat H'##?

Screenshot_2020-03-23-22-36-37.jpg

This tells you that ##\hat{H'}## is the operator corresponding to the kinetic energy due to the motion of all of the nuclei. Suppose the ##k^{th}## nucleus has a mass ##M_k## and position ##\mathbf R_k##. Can you write down the kinetic energy operator ##\hat T_k## for this nucleus?

TSny said: