1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics books with less math and more words

1. Jul 7, 2012 #1
    i am really interested in physics (Mostly particle physics, quantum mechanics and elementary particles) and i have finally decided that i want to get a physics book to read. Unfortunately i am a high school student and only have about a gr11 knowledge on math and physics (no calculus yet). Can anyone recommend we any physics books i can learn from that don't require the knowledge of math that i do not have, so maybe books which are basically all words. Theirs got to be some?:frown:

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 7, 2012 #2
  4. Jul 7, 2012 #3
    http://www.lightandmatter.com/
    There are a few different books here depending on how comfortable you are with the math. None go beyond basic calculus. If you are really interested in physics you should read the "Mechanics" one and "Calculus".

If you are really interested in elementary particles, you have a lot to learn before you get to that subject. The introductory stuff actually turns out to be more important that you might thing when you get to QM.

There are also a bunch of pop-sci books that can satiate your need for fringe physics, but don't put too much faith in their every word.

(also, if you are interested in physics as a profession, learn to program)

5. Jul 7, 2012 #4
    Why program? Do you actually need it for every physics job because i tried programming and really found it boring?

6. Jul 8, 2012 #5
    You might really like 'Conceptual physics' by Hewitt.

'Flying circus', suggested by Jorriss is a really good book, but it isn't ordered to make you learn the concepts systematically. Its more of a book that takes fun real life problems and deals with the physics behind them.

7. Jul 8, 2012 #6