• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products Here!

Please help! i dont know what to do!

• Thread starter flamethrower20
  • Start date
flamethrower20
Need help with "charges" question please!!

please help! this must be taught tomorrow in class, and this is my first year teaching. How can I explain it to my students?

Q: What point charges, all having the same magnitude, would you place at the corners of a square (one charge per corner), so that both the electric field and the electric potential (assuming a zero reference value at infinity) are zero at the center of the square? Account for the fact that the charge distribution gives rise to both a zero field and a zero potetial. Explain Thoroughly.

A: ???

Answers and Replies

flamethrower20

Homework Statement

please help! this must be taught tomorrow in class, and this is my first year teaching. How can I explain it to my students?

Q: What point charges, all having the same magnitude, would you place at the corners of a square (one charge per corner), so that both the electric field and the electric potential (assuming a zero reference value at infinity) are zero at the center of the square? Account for the fact that the charge distribution gives rise to both a zero field and a zero potetial. Explain Thoroughly.

A: ???

Homework Equations

no eqn needed..

The Attempt at a Solution

I assume that there would be a positive charge in top left, negative charge top right, postive charge bottom right, and negative charge bottom left..but I'm sad to say I'm not sure.

Hootenanny
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Gold Member
So, you have a degree in Physics but cannot explain a simple array of charges?

Hootenanny
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Gold Member
So, you have a degree in Physics but cannot explain a simple array of charges?

Please do not double post.

Note to Mentors; identical thread in Intro Physics

flamethrower20