Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Please help with this paragraph of the article, i dont understand

1. Dec 11, 2006 #1
    Hello,

- I am a CS student and I am trying to simulate movements of people using a theory described in Helbing's paper.

I have put the paragraph in below address:

www.host111.com/question/helbing.jpg

- The problem is that I have passed college physics and math about 10 years ago ! :) and now need to understand above paragraph to be able to find a numerical solutions for it. (unfortunately I have been a software developer since then and shame that I have forgotten most of the things)

1- Would someone please help me understand this paragraph of the article?

2- What that Gradian mathematically and physically mean?

3- Would you please introduce me some quick references for a) physical side of it i.e potential functions b) mathematical side ie gradian etc?

Thank you very much in advance.

Mac

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 23, 2007 #2
    i think the paper is missing some explanations. Gradian or gradient? i never heard of gradian, but gradient is a difference between values of the same constant. like the velocity gradient would be the difference between two velocities in a certain amount of time. Potentiality is the ability to impose work or force on an object. like the repulsive potential is a potential that can impose a force, example: A potential difference in voltage will result in an electric current, here a repulsive potential might result in the pedestrian not stepping. if there is a continuity of the explanation it would be better. i hope i'm correct in this explanation

4. Feb 23, 2007 #3
    gradian is a unit of measure for angles. one gradian equals to 1/400 of a full circle.
    math.comsci.us/trig/glossary.html