Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Preliminary knowledge on tensor analysis

1. Apr 24, 2014 #1

ChrisVer

Gold Member

I am not sure whether this needs to be transported in another topic (as academic guidance). I have some preliminary knowledge on tensor analysis, which helps me being more confident with indices notation etc... Also I'm accustomed to the definition of tensors, which tells us that a tensor is an object which has a given transformation law... Like a tensor of rank [itex](n,k)[/itex] transforms under a coordinate transformation (diffeomorphism) [itex]\phi^{a}(x^b)[/itex] as:
    [itex] (T')^{a_{1}...a_{n}}_{b_{1}...b_{k}}= \frac{\partial \phi^{a_{1}}}{\partial x^{w_{1}}}...\frac{\partial \phi^{a_{n}}}{\partial x^{w_{n}}} \frac{\partial x^{r_{1}}}{\partial \phi^{b_{1}}}...\frac{\partial x^{r_{k}}}{\partial \phi^{b_{k}}} (T)^{w_{1}...w_{n}}_{r_{1}...r_{k}}[/itex]

However, a tensor is not only defined as such... I learned that a (n,k) tensor can also be a mapping... In particular it takes vectors from a vector space (n times) and its dual (k times) and maps them to the real numbers:
    [itex]T: V \otimes V \otimes ... \otimes V \otimes V^{*}\otimes ... \otimes V^{*} \rightarrow R [/itex]
    so in that case instead of indices one can use arguments of the corresponding vectors in V....
    eg the metric is a tensor [itex]g: V \otimes V \rightarrow R[/itex] which gets translated to [itex]g_{ab}x^{a}x^{b}= g(x^{a},x^{b})= ds^{2}[/itex]
    But wouldn't also the metric send me from [itex]V \rightarrow V^{*}[/itex] like an object which lowers or raises indices? In that case: [itex]g(x^{a})=x^{*b}[/itex]

Is there any good book that can give me a good insight on this way of defining things? Thanks...

Last edited: Apr 24, 2014
  2. jcsd
  3. Apr 24, 2014 #2

Fredrik

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member