Problems of Semantics and Visual Aids in Science

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of language and jargon in the field of science. The speaker expresses frustration with the varied and sometimes misleading usage of words like "space," "gravity well," and "constant." They also mention the need for standardization in order for scientists to effectively communicate with each other. The conversation also touches on the idea that language is constantly evolving and new words are always being added to the lexicon. Ultimately, the speaker emphasizes the importance of understanding and using technical terminology accurately in order to avoid misunderstandings and effectively convey complex scientific concepts.
IkeB777
This is my first post to this forum, and it just so happens that what is on my mind right now is how the language and images that we use to describe our world, and teach others is a bit broken.

I am not a scientist, but I've always been interested in it, and my interest over the years has only increased. Probably as we've learned more about the universe and the world, and media has propagated the discoveries, I've become more learned. I know about just enough right now to be a danger to myself and others, but here's my contribution to science as it is relative to how we communicate it to each other.

First, the word 'space' is a word that I think should just be thrown out the airlock. If I were to define space, it would be an area completely devoid of all energy. Space carries a connotation of emptiness and nothingness which space is absolutely not. If we continue to throw this word at our kids, with it's multitude of uses and meanings, we're doing the future a disservice.