1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Programs Programs and Courses about the Missile Defense

1. Sep 13, 2016 #1
    Hello!

I am interested in learning about the art of missile defense; I am particularly interested in the mathematical applications to calculate the missiles' orbits and how to countermeasure them once they are fired from the modes. I am confused where can I start searching for relevant programs in MD. I started search with physics and engineering, but I do not see a lot of programs or courses related to MD, let alone college research. Could you give me some hints?

I am currently an undergraduate majoring in mathematics and microbiology. Unfortunately, I have not taken any course in physics.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 14, 2016 #2

DrSteve

Gold Member

Missile defense is not likely to be taught in any course on any campus as much of it involves classified information/technology/code. The closest you will likely get is orbital mechanics in aerospace engineering.

Missile defense has a long and sordid political history in the US. As far as experts are concerned, The American Physical Society takes a rather dim view of missile defense https://www.aps.org/policy/statements/00_2.cfm I would focus my interests in more productive areas.

4. Sep 16, 2016 #3
    You're not going to get very far without physics, which is essential to understand the challenges and mechanics.

Several semesters of physics, math through diff eq and numerical analysis, and several aero engineering courses are essential pre-requisites.