Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Aerospace Propulsion system used in Space probes?

1. Aug 7, 2012 #1
    What is the power source for space probes and how it is sustained for long flights in space?
    Also how do space probes reach phenomenal speeds (Helios attained 252,792 km/h !!)

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 7, 2012 #2
    http://www.nasa.gov/missions/index.html has pages for current and past missions. My quick survey indicates that fuels are identified on many.

Liquid hydrogen is popular. Hydrazine is listed. Pu-238 has been used on most robotic missions, but I've heard concern that the supply is too small to do all NASA will want in the future.

4. Aug 8, 2012 #3
    Thanks for the info, but how is it possible to achieve high speed in space when compared to earth . In earth the max speed achieved is around 7 mach

5. Aug 8, 2012 #4
    I am not an expert in this, but I would guess it is simply Newton's second law in action: whenever you apply a net force to a body, the body accelerates.

The Deep Space 1 mission was sent tot look at Comet Borrelly in 2001. It had an ion drive, so by flinging off Xe ions, it experienced a thrust about equal to the weight of a sheet of paper. After about 600 days it was moving 11,000 km/h.

I don't understand your second sentence. Are your saying that is the speed record for something in the Earth's atmosphere?

6. Aug 10, 2012 #5

etudiant

Gold Member

Orbital velocity is about 17,000 mph.
    The highest speeds reached by classical rockets are somewhere in the 30-50,000 mph,
    for outer planet probes.
    It is common to use orbital slingshot manoeuvers to speed up these probes, which dramatically reduces the fuel required by exploiting the gravity well of the planets.
    Falling down the gravity well to the sun is also an excellent way to achieve very high speeds, as comets demonstrate regularly.