Question Regarding Purchasing an Algebra Book

In summary, the individual is a math undergraduate major who recently completed their first abstract algebra course but did not enjoy the lecturer's notes. They are interested in re-learning the subject over the summer and have researched popular books such as Herstein's and Pinter's. They are unsure which one to purchase due to concerns about Herstein's lack of insights and Pinter's not being challenging enough. They also mention considering books by Artin, Jacobson, and Van Der Waerden but not liking them as much. They seek advice and recommendations, specifically asking about Serge Lang's text. The expert notes that if studying on their own, they should not worry about a book being too easy, and suggests comparing both books from the library to see
mr.tea
Hi,

I am a math undergraduate major and just finished my first abstract algebra course. Unfortunately, we used the lecturer's notes which are quite dry, without motivation, and it really felt bad. I am really interested in abstract algebra, and thus has decided to re-learn it over the summer. After a long research over the internet, I have seen that both Herstein's topics and Pinter's book are well regarded and highly recommended.

But now I have some difficulties to decide which one I should purchase.

My concerns about Herstein's: I have read that it (a) does not give insights on the subjects(which sounds weird - how can it become a classic if it is not that good?) and (b) as he writes in the preface that some of the problem are not meant to be solved but rather just to tackle, which sounds a bit odd.

My concerns about Pinter's: in the MAA review, they say that the problems are not challenging, and I am not sure if it is at the same level as Herstein's.

My purpose is to continue with abstract algebra. So this course will not be my last one, and therefore I want to really understand what is going on.