1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question regarding vector diagram

1. Nov 6, 2007 #1
    The question was, "In a total time of 2.0 min, a duck on a pond paddles
    22 m [36deg N of E] and then paddles another 65 m [25 deg E of S]"

a) Draw a vector diagram that represents this motion. Be sure to include
    a scale and compass.

I understand that this is THE most basic of all, however, since this is a
    independent study course from adult learning centre, I do not have anyone
    whom I can ask and textbook references are limited.

Here's what I have drawn;
    (Sorry about the bad quality of the picture, I'm not good at using my cam)
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 6, 2007 #2
  4. Nov 6, 2007 #3
    Thanks for the link Midy.
    However I still do not understand the meaning of "N of E" and "E of S" and how
    it will apply to the diagram..

I'm confused between "a straight line of NorthEast" which will be a diagonal line,
    or two lines drawn by going east and then north.
  5. Nov 6, 2007 #4
    You know the time for this paddling episode.
    You know the distance the duck covered (albeit in two different directions).
    So figure the scalar value (duck speed).

Scalar values (like duck speed) have magnitude only. They become vector values when we include the directions involved.

So now, you can make a new vector diagram, with the correct magnitude vectors. The resultant vector motion of the duck is easy to see.

The 'other' way to do this is to figure the distance to the duck final stop using trigonometry. Then divide that by the time taken, to get to the resultant duck vector. You would still then need to make the vector diagram anyway. So don't do it. Go directly for what is asked.
  6. Nov 6, 2007 #5