Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Radio communication from the galaxy's far side?

1. Sep 25, 2012 #1
    Is it at all possible for radio communication to travel from the obscured part of our galaxy to Earth? If so, about how long would it take to reach us?

I have an idea for fiction where we're able to receive communications from the far side of the Milky Way, but we can't figure out how to communicate back, and the pursuit of trying to communicate back divides people and so forth. However if it's completely impossible in the realm of physics to receive communications from the far side of the galaxy, I'll have to rethink the idea.

Note: I have little to no scientific background. Sorry, I'm working on it, though I have math-related disabilities.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 25, 2012 #2

mfb

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

We are ~25000 light years away from the galactic center, if the sender has the same distance (but in the opposite direction) it takes ~50000 years per direction.

I don't know about the absorption, but if you want 1-way communication, you can use a different technology level: Assume that the sender emits a real powerful signal, and we cannot reach a comparable intensity yet.

4. Sep 25, 2012 #3

Ryan_m_b

The hydrogen line is regarded as being a good candidate for interstellar communication but as has been pointed out any message is going to take tens of thousands of years to get there and an equal time to get back.

5. Sep 25, 2012 #4

phyzguy

Science Advisor