1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Radiology and Medical Imaging

1. Sep 14, 2011 #1
    Hi,
    I came across this forum and decided to post this question.

I am in my second year of undergraduate studies. My goal is to have a career in Medical Biophysics or Radiology, more specifically working in Medical Imaging. I was wondering how much physics is needed in general? I am currently taking a Physics course about Electromagnetism which is part of the program. The practical aspect of medical imaging is very interesting to me.

Thanks for your time!

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 14, 2011 #2
    That depends upon whether you want to be a full blown medical physicist, which requires a LOT of physics (and now a residency for most programs), or simply be the person that operates the imaging device, or anything in between.

4. Sep 14, 2011 #3

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

To become a radiologist you have to go through medical school and then, I believe it's a 5 year residency. In the course of your training you'll get the amount of physics you need in order to understand the images that you're viewing.

To become a medical physicist who specializes in imaging, you generally need to do an undergraduate program in physics (sometimes various engineering programs are also accepted) and then a graduate program at least to the level of an MSc. A 2 year clinical residency is required for certification.

5. Sep 15, 2011 #4
    Thank you for the replies!