1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Recommend a book on Python Programming

1. Nov 10, 2009 #1
    I'm not a complete newbie to Python but i'm not a pro either (far from it). I played with Python on surface, like doing simple computation in python shell or creating a very simple program (such as finding roots of quadratic equations).

Anyway, i would like to explore more into this subject and i'm in need of a good book to back me through.

I have stumbled upon

https://www.amazon.com/Learning-Python-3rd-Mark-Lutz/dp/0596513984/ref=dp_ob_title_bk

https://www.amazon.com/Python-Essen...=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1257866989&sr=1-2

reading some details, they seem decent. But if you have anything else to suggest, feel free to do so.

Much Appreciated!

Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 10, 2009 #2
    I'd recommend the Nutshell book.

4. Nov 10, 2009 #3
  5. Nov 11, 2009 #4
    More free books! Yay! How To Think Like a Computer Scientist. I used the second one on the list and thought it was good:
    http://www.greenteapress.com/

6. Nov 11, 2009 #5
    ""Brave beginners will be well served by this title, which provides an intelligent, fast paced intro to core topics."

"This book offers Python programmers one place to look when they need help remembering or deciphering the syntax of this open source language and its many powerful but scantily documented modules. This comprehensive reference guide makes it easy to look up the most frequently needed information--not just about the Python language itself, but also the most frequently used parts of the standard library and the most important third-party extensions."

i certainly am not a Python programmer neither do i want a fast paced book.