Relativistic rocket equation

In summary: So\begin{align*}\tanh^{-1} \left( \frac{v_2}{c} \right) - \tanh^{-1} \left( \frac{v_1}{c} \right) & = \frac{u}{c} \ln \left( \frac{m_1}{m_2} \right) \\\implies \tanh \left( \frac{v_2-v_1}{1-v_2 v_1/c^2} \right) &= \tanh \left( \frac{u}{c} \ln \left( \
greg_rack
Gold Member
I am studying through online resources some principles of spacecraft propulsion, since it really fascinates me, and makes me want to know a bit more about it :)
For rockets, thruster, I found the Tsiolkovsky rocket equation:
$$\Delta v=v_e ln(\frac{m_0}{m_f})$$

Of course, rockets can travel up to relativistic speeds, thus a relativistic implementation of the RE must be taken into account for a higher degree of accuracy in calculations.
All implementations I found, rely on this equation which gives the mass ratio in terms of ##\Delta v## and exhaust speed ##v_e##... but I couldn't manage to derive it, since in all papers it is given without demonstration:
1622107269789.png

Could you please give me a hint on how to get to this identity?

Physics news on Phys.org
I think you can do it like this. Let ##v## be the velocity of the rocket measured in the initial rest frame of the rocket. At some time ##t##, the rocket has momentum ##p## and energy ##E##. At some later time, after ejecting some amount of mass ##dk##, the rocket has mass ##m+dm##, momentum ##p + dp## and energy ##E + dE##. Note that, unlike energy and momentum, mass is not conserved in this process i.e. ##dm \neq - dk##.

If the speed of the ejected mass ##dk## with respect to the spaceship is ##u##, then its velocity in the initial rest frame is ##\tilde{v}= \dfrac{v-u}{1-uv}##. The ejected mass possesses energy ##-dE## and momentum ##-dp##. The change in momentum of the rocket is ##dp = d(\gamma m v) = \dfrac{-\tilde{v} dk}{\sqrt{1-\tilde{v}^2}}## and the change in energy of the rocket is ##dE = d(\gamma m) = \dfrac{-dk}{\sqrt{1-\tilde{v}^2}}##. Write\begin{align*}