1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Returning to school - how much math should I repeat?

1. Sep 21, 2011 #1
    I currently work in public health, and I am thinking about going back to school for my master's in epidemiology (or maybe even biostatistics). I want to have a solid math background to allow me to really dig into the stats part of public health. I finished my undergrad degree in 2004, but my last math class was almost a decade ago. When I was in school, I enjoyed math and did well, but I haven't given stats or calc a second thought in the last ten years. Seriously - I remember nothing.

Since I haven't done more than calculate tips in a long time, should I start from scratch? As in, should I take algebra, trig, etc. at a community college first and see how that goes?

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 21, 2011 #2

lisab

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I don't think it should be necessary to start all the way back with algebra. Maybe an intro statistics class would allow you to brush up on your algebra skills, while also reintroducing basic stats. You'll need that whether you go into biostats or epidemiology.

I started taking classes some 15 years after graduating, and I also thought I remembered nothing. Either I was wrong about that, or learning something the second time comes *really* easy. So, you may be surprised at what you remember, once you get into it!

4. Sep 21, 2011 #3

chiro

Science Advisor

Hey JuniCB and welcome to the forums.

For statistics I recommend you know calculus as well as optimization techniques (this includes Calc I,II,III). You should also know applied linear algebra. Also some basic knowledge of probability and statistics would be beneficial.