1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Scope for Quantum Information theory - Graduate school and beyond

1. Jan 2, 2012 #1
    Hi,
    I am a student in Europe. I have been reading through the posts on Graduate schools and the essays like the one by Zapper on how to become a physicist. I am now in the stage of searching for a PhD position.

1. I would like to know what you guys think about the scope of Quantum Information theory (QIT). As I read through the discussions, I could understand the caution against doing String theory etc. But is theoretical QIT also not an easily “employable” field? Or should I aim to be in experimental QIT?

2. Also I would like to know if someone knows of computational work being done in QIT. Admittedly one of the reasons for the field of quantum computing is due to the fact that QM cannot be “satisfactorily” simulated by classical computers. But I would still like to know if there is any work that is done in the field of QIT, where they simulate QM systems may be to build new experiments etc. Any links will be useful.

Thanks a lot in advance for your reply.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 3, 2012 #2