1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Programs Second Bachelors in Physics, Masters or PhD?

1. May 23, 2016 #1
    Hello,
    I'm a mechanical engineering student, graduating next year. But I'm interested in getting a PhD in physics.
    I know this has been asked a lot, I read through ZapperZ's excellent essay on the subject, his post, and many other related threads. But I'm still somewhat confused.
    Now I know for a fact that I'm under prepared to go directly for graduate school in physics, and that i need extra courses, but now my question is, what should I do next? I'm confused between these three options;
    1- Do a second Bachelors in physics (considering that it shouldn't take more than two years given my background)
    2- Do a Masters first, then a PhD (terminal masters?)
    3- Go straight for a PhD, if the university is welling to let me study a year or more before actually beginning.
    I'm referring here to the U.S. educational system, but advice on other countries' systems is welcome.
    Here are a few points to consider:
    - I have no research experience.
    - I wouldn't like to limit myself to any areas of physics as of now (something related to my Mech.E. for example).
    - I don't want to rush it, my physics education is very important to me.
    Also, do options 2 and 3 require me doing a GRE physics test, and take qualifying exams? or do I do that after finishing prerequisite courses?

2. jcsd
  3. May 23, 2016 #2

DrSteve

Gold Member

That you don't have research experience greatly constrains option 3). That you don't want to limit yourself to any areas of physics rules out 2) and 3). That you aren't in a hurry makes 1) viable. Given these observations I consider option 1 to be far and away the best option for you.