Self-Study Quantum Mechanics: Can I Do It w/ Poor Math Skills?

In summary: While it's not a requirement, most books that are meant to be used as self-study guides come with a solution manual. This can be found online or in the book itself.
entropy1
Whole my life I have been interested in Quantum Physics. I have a bachelor degree in IT. I did not finish my studies.

I have always been quite sloppy in studying in school. As a result, my mathematics skills are terrible.

I often get pointed out on this forum that I better start with the basics of QM. I got the advice to read a book of D.J. Griffiths: "Introduction to Quantum Mechanics".

My question: given my very poor math skills, does it make sense to self-study quantum mechanics?

Physics news on Phys.org
Books at that level assume a fluent understanding of calculus, and some familiarity with differential equations and linear algebra. If you have that much, you should be OK. If you don't, you will have difficulties.

I have had that all in my studies, but have thrown the syllabuses way. Does it make sense to self-study all those things (which I should be able to catch up again fairly quickly) without a tutor?

Last edited:
Yes, that would make most sense.

Okay. So does anyone have good advice as to what books I better start with?

Thanks! Any good book on linear algebra??

Since your intention here is not to study math, but rather study enough to understand and use it in your self-study QM effort, why not use a mathematical physics text? I've recommended Mary Boas's text many times, which had been written so that you may use it as a self-study book with only a sophomore level mathematics background.

Do a search on here for Mary Boas "Mathematical Methods in the Physical Sciences".

Zz.

Likes entropy1
I'm planning on buying the book of Mary Boas. I want to practice the problems too. But is there a book with the answers to the problems? (So that I can check if I solved them correctly)