1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Short books for introduction to the following ;

1. Jun 15, 2013 #1
    I'm currently a 2nd year undergrad student. I have done introductory courses on Mechanics and Electromagnetism, with the corresponding maths required for them.

I am trying to figure out where my interests lie in order to apply for Grad school next year (my degree is of 3 years). I need a list of introductory books (just talking about the field in general, for example, NOT a textbook) which are short, concise and cheap(!), and will help me see what lies in that specific field.

The fields on which I require books are :

Particle Physics
    Theoretical Astrophysics
    Theoretical Physics (this is a little vague, I know, but I'll just ask nonetheless!)

Also, what are the other fields relating to the above ones I might not know the names of? Feel free to throw in any suggestions, even if not related to the above areas. After all, I do not know much, and I need to find out where my interests lie in this 1 year. Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 15, 2013 #2
    You're applying to graduate school in physics with only two introductory courses in physics?

4. Jun 16, 2013 #3
    Um no..? I have 2 full more years of college to go.

5. Jun 16, 2013 #4
    Ah, based on your post, I thought you were applying to graduate school this Fall as you are currently in your second year and you said it is a three year program.

6. Jun 17, 2013 #5
    Anyone?

7. Jun 17, 2013 #6
    Perhaps Susskind's The Theoretical Minimum: What You Need to Know to Start Doing Physics?

8. Jun 17, 2013 #7