1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Should I get a Master's in biomedical engineering?

1. Jul 3, 2010 #1
    Hey all,
    So here's my dilemma. I am a neuroscience major and I was planning on just doing a PhD in some subfield of neuroscience right after I graduate. However, I've realize that a lot (though not all) of my interests are things that would be aided by some background in biomedical engineering. I'm interested in computer-brain interfaces, neural implants, using cultured neurons to control machines (such as this http://www.cnn.com/2004/TECH/11/02/brain.dish/).

Do you think a Master's in biomedical engineering in necessary for me? It will be harder for me to get in because I'm not an engineering major, but I still think I can get accepted since I plan on minoring in math and I have good grades. I haven't taken any classes on electronics, though. After the Master's, I would still want a PhD (so that's a lot of education to pay for).

Let me give you an example of something I'd like to do one day, and you can tell me if I need a biomedical engineering background. People debate the intelligence of dolphins, some saying they could be almost as intelligent as us, but since dolphins don't have hands, they can't build a civilization. So I'd love to one day insert chips into the brains of some dolphins so they can remote control some robotic arms (this sort of thing has already been done with monkeys and at least one human, Kevin Warwick). If the dolphins start building things with their robotic arms--walls, tunnels, shelters, tools--then this would be a breakthrough in science!

Now, my question: do I need a Master's in biomedical engineering to do this experiment, or just a PhD in cognitive neuroscience?

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 3, 2010 #2

Choppy