1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Other Should I research outside of my school?

1. Nov 18, 2016 #1
    Currently I am at the University of Texas at Arlington where I am studying the physical and chemical properties of supernova remnants to figure out the state of its progenitor star. Now, I was thinking of going someplace else to research for the summer, not because I am not interested in the topic, but because most of the people who I know of (online, not in my university) went to different places to get research experience. And I was just wondering: should I do the same? Why/Why not?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 18, 2016 #2

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

There are lots of summer research programs for undergraduates, specifically intended for students at other schools. Google "REU programs" (Research Experience for Undergraduates). They even pay you a stipend. However, competition is usually rather strong and you're only a freshman. Wait another year at least.

4. Nov 18, 2016 #3
    Yes. Yes. Yes. Yes. Yes.

I came from a small school such as yours. It's a very simple trend that has been true for several years. Those who did research at other universities got into graduate school, and those who didn't, didn't.

5. Nov 18, 2016 #4
    Some of those research experiences can be pretty positive.

But I tend to recommend doing a great job in a local research group for at least a year before looking for opportunities elsewhere.

First of all, a great recommendation letter will increase your odds. Second, 8-10 week summer stints, while intensive and productive, are seldom as in depth as 9-12 month opportunities at the home institution. Third, those mentors at your home institution really get to know you the best and offer the best advice junior and senior year.