1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Show that f Uniform Differentiable implies f' Uniform Continuous

1. Nov 1, 2011 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    A function [itex]f:(a,b)\to R[/itex] is said to be uniformly differentiable iff [itex]f[/itex] is differentiable on [itex](a,b)[/itex] and for each [itex]\epsilon > 0[/itex], there is a [itex]\delta > 0[/itex] such that [itex]0 < |x - y| < \delta[/itex] and [itex]x,y \in (a,b)[/itex] imply that [itex]\left|\frac{f(x) - f(y)}{x - y}-f'(x)\right| < \epsilon[/itex].

Prove that if f is uniformly differentiable on [itex](a,b)[/itex], then [itex]f'[/itex] is continuous on [itex](a,b)[/itex].

3. The attempt at a solution

This is my first time being presented with the definition of uniform differentiability. I suppose that I am looking to show that the definition of uniform differentiability implies [itex]|f'(y) - f'(x)|< \epsilon[/itex]... However, I'm having a hard time doing that. Any help would be appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 1, 2011 #2
    Here's one thing to think about: What is it about uniform differentiability that would give you the continuity in f'? What does it mean to be continuous in f, but discontinuous in f'? A good example would be a function like [itex]f(x) = x^2\sin(1/x), x \neq 0, f(x) = 0, x = 0[/itex]. This function is continuous everywhere but does not have a continuous derivative. Thus it is not uniformly differentiable. Why is that?

4. Nov 1, 2011 #3
    All that I have been given at this point is that if f is differentiabile at a point, then f is continuous at that point. So all I could say that it would make f uniformly continuous...