Showing that multiplication by a complex number is a linear transform

In summary, the problem is asking for a linear transformation on the real vector space ##\mathbb{R}^2##. If you can show that this is the case, you will have solved the problem.
Eclair_de_XII
Homework Statement
"The set ##\mathbb{C}## of complex numbers can be canonically identified with the space ##\mathbb{R}^2## by treating each ##z=x+iy\in \mathbb{C}## as a column ##(x,y)^T\in \mathbb{R}^2##.

(a) "Treating ##\mathbb{C}## as a complex vector space, show that multiplication by ##\alpha=a+ib\in \mathbb{C}## is a linear transformation in ##\mathbb{C}##. What is the matrix?"
Relevant Equations
##(x+iy)(a+ib)=(xa-by)+i(ya+bx)##
If I had to guess what the complex matrix would look like, it would be:

##T(x+iy)=(xa-by)+i(ya+bx)=\begin{pmatrix}
a+bi & 0 \\
0 & -b+ai\end{pmatrix}\begin{pmatrix}
x \\
y \end{pmatrix}##

I'm not too sure on where everything goes; it's my first time fiddling with complex numbers, and moreover, using them in linear algebra.

Physics news on Phys.org
Mmm... I think there's something wrong. ##\mathbb{C}## is a dimension 1 complex vector space. So of course, multiplication by ##\alpha## is a linear transformation, but it has no associated matrix (well, a matrix 1##\times##1 if you want). So I think the problem wants to show that multiplication by ##\alpha## is a linear transformation in ##\mathbb{R}^2##. In that case, the ##2\times 2## matrix must have only real numbers.

Likes member 587159
Eclair_de_XII said:
Problem Statement: "The set ##\mathbb{C}## of complex numbers can be canonically identified with the space ##\mathbb{R}^2## by treating each ##z=x+iy\in \mathbb{C}## as a column ##(x,y)^T\in \mathbb{R}^2##.

(a) "Treating ##\mathbb{C}## as a complex vector space, show that multiplication by ##\alpha=a+ib\in \mathbb{C}## is a linear transformation in ##\mathbb{C}##. What is the matrix?"
Relevant Equations: ##(x+iy)(a+ib)=(xa-by)+i(ya+bx)##