1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Simple calc based motion in a plane Question

1. Oct 24, 2013 #1
    Question:

http://gyazo.com/25303d1c24332bb51afb926867f04c41

My attempt thus far (i'm very new to physics so bare with me:

Take h to be the distance from where the ball is thrown up till the maximum point before it starts to decrease

when the object is at terminal velocity the acceleration is zero so:

using f = ma, we get ## 0 = kv_t^2 -mg ## ## v_t^2 = mg/k ##

initially using f=ma again:

## mv_0 \dfrac{dv_0}{dh} = -mg -kv_0^2## rearranging and integrating I get ## \dfrac{-m}{2k}ln|mg+kv_0^2| = h + c## when h = 0 v_0 = 0 so: ## c = \dfrac{-m}{2k}ln(mg) ## therefore I get ## -\dfrac{m}{2k} ln(mg+kv_0^2) = h -\dfrac{m}{2k} ln(mg) ##

when it returns using f = ma again:

## -mv_1 \dfrac{dv_1}{dh} = kv_1^2 -mg ## rearranging and integrating I get: ## \dfrac{m}{2k} ln|kv_1^2 -mg| = h + D ## where D is a constant.

I am not sure how to find the constant D, or if what I am doing is correct at all.. any help would be good thank you

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 24, 2013 #2

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Just adjusting your notation there (i.e. ##\small v_0## is the initial veocity - so ##\small dv_0/dt=0##)

... going up: $$v\frac{dv}{dy}=-g-\frac{k}{m}v^2\; : \; v(0)=v_0 \qquad ...(1)$$ ... going down $$v\frac{dv}{dy}=-g+\frac{k}{m}v^2\; :\; v(0)=v_1\qquad ...(2)$$

... that should clarify things.

Since you know ##v_t^2=mg/k##, you can sub that in: $$\frac{k}{m}=\frac{g}{v_t^2}$$
    Presumably you solved by changing variables etc.
    If you define the maximum height reached to be y=h, then v(h)=0 :)

4. Oct 25, 2013 #3