Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Solar Technology for Residential Use

1. Apr 7, 2012 #1
    Hi, I am a student at Lehigh University. I don't know if this is a appropriated place to post this, but I kind of need some help on this.

In one of my project courses, I am placed in a team with students of various majors to develop a solar collector (not solar panel, but a solar dish) for residential use. Pretty much the theory is to harvest the power of the sun and integrate that with our current power system. The product is targeted to be affordable, easy to maintain, and efficient.

I got a survey that if you guys could answer, that will contribute greatly to our project. Thanks!

http://img191.imageshack.us/img191/7213/surveypic.png [Broken]

Last edited by a moderator: May 5, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Apr 8, 2012 #2
    I don't mind answering the questions - if I understand why you would need the answers in order to reach your team goals?

Also, what sort of "collector?" Where will it redirect the energy it collects to ... water? Oil? And how will it be utilized?

I have to say that the survey is, well, open-ended at best ... more appropriately, it is rather vague imho.

4. Apr 8, 2012 #3
    Well, the survey to written to get a general sense of where the technology and market is at. The questions might seems vague, but they can actually help us determine a target product cost range, which play a big role in determining the designs.

The collector is a solar dish similar to the design below. However, the heat is redirected to a Stirling engine through a cavity receiver where we can harvest the kinetic energy as a form of electricity.

The electricity then get integrated as part of the current electrical system. However, the product is not designed to replace the current electrical system.

adv.gif

5. Apr 9, 2012 #4