1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Space engineering student at York, should I transfer to Ryerson?

1. Aug 4, 2015 #1
    I am currently studying space engineering at york, i just completed my first year and did horribly. I wouldn't say the academics were the cause rather idk i think social anxiety got the best of me i haven't made one proper friend so far. A lot of people are telling me that this degree is gonna be meaningless considering its from york and that i should switch to ryerson or uft. But to do that id have to almost repeat and upgrade all of the courses i have taken already (just first year) in order to meet the requirements. And now I'm just LOST, idk if its worth it? It sort of makes me happy because i feel like ill get a fresh start both academically and socially but then i hear a lot of people online saying that lassonde is gonna be the next schulich and osgoode. Im honestly just confused is it really worth it? or should i just stick to york?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 4, 2015 #2

billy_joule

Science Advisor

You need to find quantitative data rather than rely on gossip & hearsay.
    I don't know what country you're in but quite a few studies have been done on graduate job prospects vs University.
    Be aware that some don't control for degree type so can be misleading (ie they ignore that engineering graduates have better prospects than gender studies graduates).

4. Aug 4, 2015 #3

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Sure, with changing to a different school you'll get a fresh start, but it's probably worth looking a little deeper at your issues, because there's a big risk that all you'll end up doing is have the same cycle repeat itself.